This Website is Dedicated to Mahatma Gandhi - The Father of Our Great Nation Bharat.   

My Faith
Message of Gita
Natural Cure
Tribute to Patriots
Nation Building
Wisdom of Gurus
28 Pillars
Constructive Program
Kirti Mandir
Eleven Vows
His Assassin
Gandhi Peace Prize


  Gandhi Peace Prize

Gandhi Peace Prize

The International Gandhi Peace Prize was instituted by the Government of India on the occasion of the 125th Birth Centenary of Mahatma Gandhi, for social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

The Prize is to be awarded for contributions made by a person or an institution who worked selflessly towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian means, for the amelioration of human suffering particularly of the less privileged sections of the society contributing towards social justice and harmony, irrespective of whether he holds a high public office or not. The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or sex. Achievements up to 10 years preceding the nomination, would be considered. Older work may be considered if its significance has become apparent only recently. A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration should have been published.

The Award carries an amount of Rs.10 million (convertible in foreign currency) a Citation and a Plaque. The Award winner is chosen by a Jury under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister of India.

The past recipients of the Award are:

1995 Dr. Julius K. Nyerere (Former President of Tanzania)
1996 Dr. A. T. Ariyaratne (Sri Lankan social scientist)
1997 Dr. Gerhard Fischer (Former German diplomat)
1998 Ramakrishna Mission
1999 Shri Murlidhar Devidas Amte (Baba Amte)
2000 Dr. Nelson Mandela and Grameen Bank, Bangladesh

Invitation to make nominations for Gandhi Peace Prize Award - 2001

The persons competent to make proposals for the Award are:

a. Former members of the Jury

b. Persons who have received the Award

c. Members of the Parliament of India

d. Nobel Laureates

e. The Secretary-General of United Nations and other leaders in international organisations or institutions whose objectives are promotion of peace, non-violence and emancipation of less privileged sections of society, tolerance, social harmony and social justice

f. Presidents and Vice-Chancellors

g. Heads of Indian Missions abroad for bringing it to the notice of and for consulting major relevant institutions and experts of the country concerned

h. Heads of institutions relating to studies and research in non-violence and Gandhian principles

i. Presiding Officers of both Houses of Parliament/State Assemblies/Councils

j. Governors /Chief Ministers of the States/UTs Administration

k. Secretary-General , Commonwealth

l. Commonwealth Parliamentary Union

m. Inter-Parliamentary Union

n. Any other person whom the Jury may wish to invite to make proposals for the Award.
The recommendations should contain the following points and be addressed to Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi-110001, INDIA

i. Age

ii. Nationality

iii. Position held

iv. Distinctions

v. Details such as Citation-like note spelling out the achievements which justifies the grant of Award.

Email This Page

Print This Page

Mohan Mala
Other Articles
Essays / Lectures
Other Links


Home | About Us | Guest Book
© 2000- All rights reserved.